Items related to The Book of David (Anonymous Diaries)

The Book of David (Anonymous Diaries)

4.2 avg rating
( 2,027 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781442489851: The Book of David (Anonymous Diaries)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 
His secret is his downfall. A riveting, first-person tale in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky.

The author of this fictional diary began writing for a class assignment, but soon it became much more to him. As the star player of his high school football team, he faces a lot of pressure and expectation. Not to mention the secret that he’s harboring inside. The secret that could change everything.

And as David quickly learns, nothing stays secret forever.

His innermost thoughts and feelings are chronicled in the diary he left behind.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:
A Simon & Schuster author.
Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:
The Book of David Monday, August 27


First day of school, first period. Mrs. Harrison is making us all keep a journal for English Literature. We don’t have to turn it in. We just have to write in it for the first ten minutes of class on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays—or the last ten minutes, whichever she decides that day. It’s weird to write with a pen in class. Usually I take notes on my laptop. My hand is already cramping up. The good news is that my handwriting is so atrocious, I’ll be the only person who can read it, so I don’t have to worry about anyone else deciphering this.

When Mrs. Harrison announced the journals, Tyler groaned like Coach was forcing him to run line drills. Mrs. Harrison told Tyler there’s something physiological that happens when you write with a pen or pencil on actual paper. He said, “Yeah, my brain shuts down because it’s so bored.” She just rolled her eyes and told him to “hush.” Tyler said he didn’t have anything to write about, and she told him the point is to not stop, to keep your hand moving across the page even if you think you don’t have anything to say. Then she held up a legal pad and a pen at the front of the class and pretended to write across it while she said the words out loud as an example:

“I have nothing to write about in my English class, but my crazy-ass teacher is making me keep a journal anyway. I hate her so much, I have smoke coming out of my ears, which I wish was coming out of the bong I can’t tell anyone I own because my name is Tyler Riggs and I’m a starter on the high school football team and if I get caught I will lose my scholarship to one of the forty-seven colleges that send scouts to Hillside High to watch me play. Plus, I will not get to start in the game on Friday night, and my pretty cheerleader girlfriend will think I am a loser.”

The whole class cracked up—even Tyler. Mrs. Harrison is our favorite teacher. She’s tough, but she says stuff like “crazy-ass” and makes jokes about pot, which she can get away with because she’s such a good teacher and because her husband is the music pastor at the big Baptist church most of us attend. She’s up front every Sunday, singing in the choir.

Actually, nobody knows who the starting lineup is for sure yet. List will be up this afternoon before we hit the locker room. Coach has been playing both me and Tyler at QB this summer. I’m glad two-a-day practices are over, but I’m nervous as hell about him posting the lineup. Tyler’s my best friend and has been since seventh grade. I know how much this means to him. We’ve been pushing each other since we were in junior high—lifting, running, making sure our grades are decent—and it all comes down to this: Only one of us can be starting QB our senior year.

Tyler’s got seven pounds on me, but I’ve got two inches on him. He can rush like a locomotive (takes three linemen to drag him down), but I can leap and scramble. Under pressure, he likes to tuck the ball and plow down the field like a tank. I fall back and look for the pass. It’s all up to Coach now.

Mrs. Harrison is right about the scouts, too. They’ve been hanging around practice all summer. Tyler told me last week that he’s ready to give a verbal commitment to Arkansas. I’ve been holding out for Oklahoma.

I just heard this new kid sitting next to me flip to his third page. He’s writing like his arm is robotic. His hair is wet and he’s wearing a T-shirt that says THE SMITHS. I wonder if that’s his last name.

Dang. Mrs. Harrison just told us to wrap it up. Can’t believe it’s been ten minutes already.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781442489868: The Book of David (Anonymous Diaries)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9781442489868
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Y..., 2014
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon Pulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Soft Cover Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781442489851

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 20992388-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon & Schuster, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. His secret is his downfall. A riveting, first-person tale in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky. The author of this fictional diary began writing for a class assignment, but soon it became much more to him. As the star player of his high school football team, he faces a lot of pressure and expectation. Not to mention the secret that he's harboring inside. The secret that could change everything. And as David quickly learns, nothing stays secret forever. His innermost thoughts and feelings are chronicled in the diary he left behind. Seller Inventory # AAC9781442489851

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon and Schuster (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1442489855

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon Pulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!. Seller Inventory # OTF-Y-9781442489851

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon Pulse 6/3/2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Book of David. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781442489851

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon Pulse, New York (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. His secret is his downfall. A riveting, first-person tale in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky. The author of this fictional diary began writing for a class assignment, but soon it became much more to him. As the star player of his high school football team, he faces a lot of pressure and expectation. Not to mention the secret that he's harboring inside. The secret that could change everything. And as David quickly learns, nothing stays secret forever. His innermost thoughts and feelings are chronicled in the diary he left behind. Synopsis coming soon. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781442489851

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1442489855-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ00A2CF_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Anonymous
Published by Simon & Schuster, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442489855 ISBN 13: 9781442489851
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. His secret is his downfall. A riveting, first-person tale in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky. The author of this fictional diary began writing for a class assignment, but soon it became much more to him. As the star player of his high school football team, he faces a lot of pressure and expectation. Not to mention the secret that he's harboring inside. The secret that could change everything. And as David quickly learns, nothing stays secret forever. His innermost thoughts and feelings are chronicled in the diary he left behind. Seller Inventory # BZV9781442489851

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book