Items related to The Island Of The Day Before

Eco, Umberto The Island Of The Day Before

ISBN 13: 9780156030373

The Island Of The Day Before

3.48 avg rating
( 14,683 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780156030373: The Island Of The Day Before
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

After a violent storm in the South Pacific in the year 1643, Roberto della Griva finds himself shipwrecked-on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, he discovers, but the crew is missing.

As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father and his illusions; and the lessons given him on Reasons of State, fencing, the writing of love letters, and blasphemy.

In this fascinating, lyrical tale, Umberto Eco tells of a young dreamer searching for love and meaning; and of a most amazing old Jesuit who, with his clocks and maps, has plumbed the secrets of longitudes, the four moons of Jupiter, and the Flood.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Published in hardcover by Harcourt, 1994, 0-15-100151-0
Published in paperback by Penguin, 1996, 0140259198

From the Back Cover:

"A profound and ingenious story artfully told . . . Renaissance battles, love poems, and sea journeys in the age of exploration." --The New York Times Book Review

Roberto della Griva is an Italian nobleman living in 1643. His mission is to travel the South Pacific and discover the means by which navigators can understand the mystery of longitude. After a violent storm, however, Roberto finds himself shipwrecked--on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, but the crew is missing.

As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father; and the lessons given him on fencing, blasphemy, and the writing of love letters. The Island of the Day Before is a fascinating, lyrical tale about a young dreamer's search for love and meaning.

"A masterpiece . . . intellectually stimulating and dramatically intriguing." --Chicago Tribune
"A story both thought provoking and surprisingly humorous." ? USA Today

"Umberto Eco . . . is the last of the great 20th century polymathic fabulists in the tradition of Joyce and Nabokov and Borges." ? The Wall Street Journal 

 UMBERTO ECO is a professor of semiotics at the University of Bologna and the bestselling author of numerous novels and collections of essays. He lives in Milan.

Translated from the Italian by William Weaver

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780151001514: The Island of the Day Before

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0151001510 ISBN 13: 9780151001514
Publisher: Harcourt Brace, 1995
Hardcover

9780749396664: The Island of the Day Before

Vintag..., 1996
Softcover

9780140259193: The Island of the Day Before

Pengui..., 1996
Softcover

9780436202704: The island of the day before

Secker, 1995
Hardcover

9780749395445: The Island of Day Before

Rupa &..., 1996
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Eco, Umberto
Published by HarperVia (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0156030373-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Mariner Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Rep Tra. Seller Inventory # DADAX0156030373

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Eco, Umberto
Published by Harvest Books 6/5/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Island of the Day Before. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780156030373

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 22.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mariner Books
Published by Mariner Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER! SHIPS IN STURDY CARDBOARD PACKAGING!. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780156030373

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Eco, Umberto
Published by Mariner Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 3994389-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Eco, Umberto
Published by HarperVia (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Hafa Adai Books
(Moncks Corner, SC, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # Hafa_fresh_0156030373

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 19.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Mariner Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Welcome Back Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: NEW. Clean and crisp and new!. Seller Inventory # 3531651697

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 24.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Umberto Eco
Published by Mariner Books (2022)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Paperback Quantity: 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New! This item is printed on demand. Seller Inventory # 0156030373

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 25.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Eco, Umberto
Published by HarperVia (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0156030373

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Professor of Semiotics Umberto Eco
Published by Cengage Learning, Inc, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0156030373 ISBN 13: 9780156030373
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint, Translation. Language: English. Brand new Book. After a violent storm in the South Pacific in the year 1643, Roberto della Griva finds himself shipwrecked-on a ship. Swept from the Amaryllis, he has managed to pull himself aboard the Daphne, anchored in the bay of a beautiful island. The ship is fully provisioned, he discovers, but the crew is missing. As Roberto explores the different cabinets in the hold, he remembers chapters from his youth: Ferrante, his imaginary evil brother; the siege of Casale, that meaningless chess move in the Thirty Years' War in which he lost his father and his illusions; and the lessons given him on Reasons of State, fencing, the writing of love letters, and blasphemy. In this fascinating, lyrical tale, Umberto Eco tells of a young dreamer searching for love and meaning; and of a most amazing old Jesuit who, with his clocks and maps, has plumbed the secrets of longitudes, the four moons of Jupiter, and the Flood. Seller Inventory # APC9780156030373

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 27.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book